Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner

Pablo García López (Tenor)

Born: 1988 - Córdoba, Spain

The Spanish tenor, Pablo García López, studied singing in the Conservatory of his hometown Córdoba with teacher Juan Luque. He furthers his studies at the Universität Mozarteum in Salzburg, under teaching of Helena Lazarska and Giovanni Ceto, with special attention to Mozart repertoire. He received master-classes from great singers as Teresa Berganza, Pedro Lavirgen, Ana Luisa Chova, Elena Pérez and Lola Arenas, between others.

In the field of Opera, Pablo García López has sung Fenton in Falstaff, Pedrillo in Die Entfürung aus dem Serail, Remendado in Carmen, Puck in The Fairy Queen, Malcolm in Macbeth, Flavio in Norma, Nathanaël in Les Comptes díHoffmann and Tamino in Die Zauberflöte in Tetares as Liceo de Barcelona, Villamarta de Jerez, Gran Teatro de Córdoba and Auditorio San Lorenzo del Escorial. Recently he had a successful participation in the Spanish Premiere of La vera costanza, by J. Haydn, at the Teatro Real de Madrid conducted by Jesús López-Cobos and directed by Elio de Capitani, later performed at Teatro Communale de Treviso (Italy) and soon at Ópera Royal de Wallonie in Liege.

Regarding oratorio and recital, since he won in 2006 the competition of the Orquesta de Córdoba and itís Chief Conductor, Manuel Hernández-Silva, for young singers, Pablo García López participates often with this orchestra, the last one in April 2010 with Benjamin Brittenís Serenade for Horn, tenor and Strings. He also sung at Liedertafel Hall in the Mozarteum of Salzburg, Gran Teatro de Córdoba, Auditori de Tarragona, and Auditorio Manuel de Falla in Granada; where he performed works like Messiah by George Frideric Handel), Misa Credo, Réquiem and Concert arias by W.A. Mozart, Miserere nº2 by Gómez Navarro, Magnificat BWV 243, Mätthaus Passion BWV 244, and Cantata BWV 147 by J. S. Bach and Serenade by B. Britten.

Pablo García López has been conducted by Jesús López-Cobos, Manuel Hernández Silva, Miguel Ortega, Marco Zambelli, Alejandro Posada, Elena Herrera, Juan Luis Pérez, Josè Antonio Montaño, Michael Tilson Thomas, Marcello Panni, Virginia Martínez, Javier Pérez Batista, Enrique Patrón Rueda or Diego González and directed by Lindsay Kemp, José Luis Castro, Calixto Bieito, Francisco López, Pier Paolo Paccini, Joan Antón Rechi, Stefano Poda and Alexandra Panzavolta.

Source of information for the bio: Pablo García López Website
Contributed by
Carlos Amount (November 2010)

Recordings of Bach Cantatas & Other Vocal Works




Manuel Hernández-Silva


BWV 243

Links to other Sites

Pablo García López (Official Website) [Spanish/English]

Pablo García López (Cordobapedía) [Spanish]

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner


Back to the Top

Last update: Monday, May 29, 2017 12:02