Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Explanation | Acronyms

Jennifer (Jenny) Hill (Soprano)

Born: June 20, 1944 - London, England

The English soprano, Jennifer (Jenny) Hill, was trained at the National School of Opera and at the Opera Centre in London.

Jennifer Hill made her debut in 1964 with the Sadler's Wells Opera London in the English first performance of Janácek's The Makropulos Case in the role of Kristina. Se sang then in London and with a tour in Soviet Russia together with the English Opera Group the role of Lucia in The Rape of Lucretia by Benjamin Britten. In London as during the world exhibition in Montreal she made guest appearance in 1967 as Tytania in B. Britten’s A Midsummer Night's Dream. At the Aldeburgh Festival she could be heard in August 1968 in the premiere of the opera Punch and Judy by Harrison Birtwistle in the role of Pretty Polly, which took her over then also to the Edinburgh Festival.

Jennifer Hill appeared as a guest at the prominent English opera stages in roles like Lucia di Lammermoor by Donizetti, Amina in La Sonnambula by Bellini, Gilda in Rigoletto, Violetta in La Traviata, Susanna in Le Nozze di Figaro, Queen of the Night in Zauberflöte and Olympia in Hoffmanns Erzählungen. At Brighton Festival she appeared in the premiere of another stage work by H. Birtwistle, Down by the Greenwood Side (May 1969). At the Royal Festival Hall to London she appeared as concert soloist in the Magnificat of Goffredo Petrassi. She sang in St. Paul Cathedral London the soprano solo in the Mass in B minor (BWV 232) by J.S. Bach under Carlo Maria Giulini for the opening of the City of London Festival. Numerous appearances in radio and television broadcasts mark the continuation of the career of the artist. She has also been active in the educational area.

Recordings: Decca ('The Rape of Lucretia', Scenes from 'Faust' by R. Schumann, Johannes-Passion (BWV 245) by J.S. Bach under the direction of Benjamin Britten).


Source: Operissimo Website, English translation by Aryeh Oron (April 2004)
Contributed by
Aryeh Oron (April 2004)

Recordings of Bach Cantatas & Other Vocal Works




Benjamin Britten


BWV 245

Carlo Maria Giulini


BWV 232

Links to other Sites


Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Explanation | Acronyms

Introduction | Cantatas | Other Vocal | Instrumental | Performers | General Topics | Articles | Books | Movies | New
Biographies | Texts & Translations | Scores | References | Commentaries | Music | Concerts | Festivals | Tour | Art & Memorabilia
Chorale Texts | Chorale Melodies | Lutheran Church Year | Readings | Poets & Composers | Arrangements & Transcriptions
Search Website | Search Works/Movements | Terms & Abbreviations | Copyright | How to contribute | Sitemap | Links


Back to the Top

Last update: ýJanuary 16, 2010 ý23:04:48