Background Information
Performer Bios

Poet/Composer Bios

Additional Information

Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner

Choeur de Chambre de Namur (Chamber Choir)

Founded: 1987 - Namur, Belgium

It was in 1987 that the "Centre de Chant Choral de la Communauté française de Belgique" (Centre for choral singing of the Belgian French-speaking community) founded the Choeur de Chambre de Namur (= CCN; Namur Chamber Choir, the community's official vocal ensemble).

This flexibly-sized ensemble comprises between 12 and 32 singers, working under direction of Jean Tubéry and of such renowned guest conductors as Eric Ericson, Erik Van Nevel, Louis Devos, Marc Minkowski, Timothy Brown, Kenneth Montgomery, Pierre Cao (principal conductor from 1992 to 1995), Simon Halsey, Sigiswald Kuijken, Peter Phillips, Pierre Bartholomée, Roy Goodman, Michael Schneider, Philippe Pierlot, Philippe Herreweghe, and Jordi Savall.

Right from the begining of its career, the Choeur de Chambre de Namur has performed the major works in the choral repertoire (the oratorios of George Frideric Handel, J.S. Bach's B minor Mass (BWV 232), motets and passions of J.S. Bach, the Requiems of W.A. Mozart and Gabriel Fauré, as well as contemporary works) and appeared at well-known festivals, among them abbey of Escaldieu (Pyrénées), the Versailles Festival of Baroque Music, the Festival d'été in Paris, the Arles Festival of Sacred Music, the Walloon and Flanders festivals, the Ars Musica Festival in Brussels, the Concerts Sinfonico-corals of Lerida, and the Ambronay Festival.

The choir has also recorded some 15 CD's for the Ricercar, Erato, Deutsche Harmonia Mundi, Virgin, Cyprès and Astrée-Auvidis labels. All these recordings have been acclaimed by the musical press, receiving nominations for the Victoires de la Musique Classique in Paris, and such awards as the 'Choc du Monde de la Musique', Diapason d'Or, and Joker de Crescendo'. The Choeur de Chambre de Namur has appeared with the Orchestre Philarmonique de Liège, the Orchestre National de Lille, the Koninklijk Filharmonisch Orkest van Vlaanderen, Concerto Armonico Budapest, the Ricercar Consort, La Grande Écurie et la Chambre du Roy, La Petite Bande, Amsterdam Bach Soloists, Ensemble La Fenice, La Stagione Frankfurt and Les Agrémens. Plans for future seasons include collaborations with Jean-Claude Malgoire, Patrick Davin, Guy Van Waas, Peter Phillips, Paul Dombrecht and Jean Tubéry, among others.

The Choeur de Chambre de Namur receives assistance from La Communauté française de Belgique, Direction Générale de la Culture, Secteur de la Musique, and support from la Loterie Nationale and from La Ville and La Province de Namur.

Members of Choeur de Chambre de Namour:





Corinne Bahuaud
Helen Cassano
Anne Maugard

Stéphen Collardelle
Vincent Lesage

Anicet Castel
Lionel Meunier
Jean-Claude Sarragosse

Source: Centre de Chant Choral de Namur Website
Contributed by
Thérèse Hanquet (February 2007)

Recordings of Bach Cantatas & Other Vocal Works




Leonardo García-Alarcón


Video: BWV 201, BWV 205, BWV 213

Jean-Claude Malgoire


BWV 244

Ricercar Consort


BWV 4, BWV 182, BWV 230

Jean Túbery


BWV 64, BWV 121, BWV 133

Links to other Sites

Centre de Chant Choral de Namur (Official Website) [Multi-lingual]


Biographies of Performers: Main Page | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Explanation | Acronyms | Missing Biographies | The Sad Corner


Back to the Top

Last update: Monday, May 29, 2017 00:58